Victorian Lung Cancer Registry
School of Public Health & Preventive Medicine
Monash University, Cancer Research Program
Level 3, 553 St Kilda Road

Melbourne, VIC, 3004
Switch + 61 3 9903 0555  
Fax + 61 3 9903 0576

VLCR Steering Commitee

The registry is governed by a Steering Committee, which is responsible for:

  • Facilitating policy support for issues identified by the Management Committee;
  • Providing advice on the registry’s management, organisation, scope, development and funding;
  • Monitoring the quality of registry’s data management processes and timeliness of reporting;
  • Developing and monitoring policies for access to data and responses to quality of care issues identified;
  • Reviewing and advising on output from the registry;
  • Reviewing and providing comment on reports published by the registry
  • Providing advice on the collection and interpretation of data;
  • Reviewing all research and data requests for identified or identifiable data;
  • Reviewing publications arising from the registry;
  • Reviewing and advising on communication strategy, including communication with consumers

Members of the Steering Committee

David Ashley Barwon Health Director of Medical Oncology
David Ball Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre Deputy Director, Radiation Oncology & Cancer Imaging
Peter Briggs SMICS Medical Director SMICS / Head of oncology Southern Health
Shirley Carvosso Consumer Representative
Matthew Conron St. Vincent's Hospital Department Respiratory and Sleep Medicine
Mary Duffy Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre Nurse Coordinator- Lung
Sue Evans Monash University Public Health & Preventive Medicine
Helen Farrugia Cancer Council Victoria Director, Registry Systems. Victorian Cancer Council
Vinod Ganju Monash University Medical Oncologist
Andrew Haydon Alfred Health General Oncologist
Louis Irving Royal Melbourne Hospital Director, Respiratory Medicine. Monash
Julie Johns BioGrid Data Utilisation Manager
David Langton Frankston Hospital / SMICS Thoracic Physician
Michael MacManus Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre Associate Director (Research), Department of Radiation Oncology
Danielle Mazza Monash University Acting Head of Dept of General Practice, Monash
John McNeil Monash University Public Health & Preventive Medicine, Head of Department
Jeremy Millar Alfred Health Director, The William Buckland Radiotherapy Centre
Paul Mitchell Austin Hospital Senior Specialist, Austin Health
Jennifer Philip St. Vincent's Hospital Deputy Director Palliative Medicine & Centre for Palliative Care
Gary Richardson Cabrini Director, Oncology
Megan Robertson Epworth Executive Director of Research
Benjamin Solomon Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre Medical Oncologist
Robert Stirling Alfred Health Respiratory Physician
Anne Thompson Biobank Executive Officer
Neil Watkins Monash University Monash Institute of Medical Research
Gavin Wright St. Vincent's Hospital Director of Surgical Oncology